Digos City

The municipality of Digos was formally inaugurated on July 19, 1949 with Mr. Benito Rabor as the first appointed Mayor. Its name was derived from the word “PADIGOS” meaning “take a bath”. This municipality was bounded on the north by the municipality of Sta. Cruz , on the east by Davao Gulf, on the south by the municipality of Hagonoy and on the west by the municipality of Matanao. Republic Act No.  8789 formally declared Digos as a component city of Davao del Sur and supported by a majority votes presenting 87 percent of the voters in a plebiscite held last September 8, 2000.