The municipality of Matanao was created by virtue of Republic Act No. 1902 on July 22, 1957 from a portion of the municipality of Bansalan. It was inaugurated was an independent municipality on July 7, 1957 with Ismael Veloso , the lone congressman of Davao as the inaugural speaker. Rosendo Javelona Sr. was the appointed mayor. The municipality has 33 barangays with a total land area of 20,240 hectares. It is bounded on the north by Bansalan, on the east by Digos, on the south by Kiblawan and on the west by Magsaysay and North Cotabato.  The name Matanao derived its name from the visayan word “MATIN-AW” meaning “very clear”. The term was used to refer to the crystal clear water of the “Matanao River “.