Geographical location and Political Subdivision

Davao del Sur is located in the southeastern part of the Philippines and lies between 125° 5’ and 125° 42’ longitude and 5° 22’ and 6° 58’ 39” latitude. It is situated in the southern part of Mindanao. The province is bounded on the north by Davao City, on the west by the provinces of North Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat and South Cotabato, on the east by Davao Gulf and on the south by Davao Occidental and Sarangani Province.

The province is composed of nine (9) municipalities and one (1) component city subdivided into two (2) congressional districts where District 1 is composed of Digos City, Bansalan and Sta. Cruz and the rest of the municipalities constitute District 2. It has 232 barangays with Matanao having the most number of barangays.­­­­ 

Table 1. Number of Barangays by Municipality/City Davao del Sur   

Municipalities/CityNumber of Barangays
Davao del Sur232
Digos City26
Sta. Cruz18