The municipality of Kiblawan has a total land area of 39,007 hectares with 30 barangays. The first appointed mayor was Dominador Magabilin. It is bounded on the north by the municipality of Matanao, on the east by Padada and Sulop, on the south by the municipality of Sulop and on the west by the province of Sultan Kudarat. The town got its name from the combined name of two lovers known as “KIB” and LAWAN”.