The  municipality of Malalag comprises the southern part of Padada. It has 15 barangays with a total land area of 18,612 hectares. It is bounded on the north by Padada, on the east by Davao Gulf, on the south by the municipality of Sta. Maria and on the west by the province of South Cotabato. Its first civil government was run by late Col. Antonio Lanzar. The town derived its name from two version of the stories. The first from the famous chieftain among the tribes namely Datu Alag and second from a creek at the heart of the town whose water appeared yellowish in color. The people were amazed by the color of the water and called it “MALALAG NGA TUBIG” meaning “YELLOW WATER”. From then on the people kept uttering the word Malalag that eventually became the name of the place.